Tags

, , ,

I promised myself I wouldn’t fall into the holiday trap and post how anti-Easter Bunny and Easter eggs I am.  It’s here on this blog how I refuse to find out what the Easter Bunny, Easter eggs and Peeps have to do with Easter.  I do like those damn pastel colored jelly beans. Aren’t they amazing?

The other topics I hate discussing are religion and politics. These topics are never-ending and people at times get out of hand with their views if you don’t agree with them.  I was curios as to why, in this day and age, does the Catholic Church still follow the tradition of sharing and showing each other ‘peace’. For those non-Catholics, this is the part where you shake hands with everyone sitting around, in front or behind you and say ‘Peace be with you’.  I’m not a total germaphobe, but do I want to shake hands with strangers and have their germs cling to my hand which is now being shaken by at least six or seven strangers?

There’s a lot to be said about this tradition and I’m not one to knock it but I don’t think God will be upset with me if I don’t wish to touch everyone’s hand during this process. Why? I remember one winter where the person in front of me was coughing and sneezing into his hands and now I’m stressing because the ‘peace’ part was coming up and this ‘hand-coughing’ person would be turning around to include me in his circle of peacer’s (this is a made up word). Needless to say, my quick thinking had me digging for my gloves and before long I had my Star Trek Enterprise ‘shields’ on.  I’m just saying people, this is not the time to be touching each other’s hands unless you’re willing to buy me a Starbuck’s coffee and pay for any medical copays if I get sick after shaking your hand.

I won’t even go into the wine drinking part of the Mass. Unless you’re giving me my own cup, I’ll pass.  There’s no way you’re going to make me believe that you’ve cleaned the germs off that cup by wiping it with a napkin.  Suggestion: get Dixie cups and pass the wine around.

I’m just saying….

Life is good,

Eve

 

