Tags

, ,

Rejection

NOUn

The dismissing or refusing of a proposal, idea, etc  (this is the definition of the word ‘rejection’ by bing.com)

The feeling of worthlessness after being turned down. Rejected; not wanted; get lost loser. (This is the definition of the word ‘rejection’ per Eve)

Sometimes I find myself doing things out of my comfort zone.  This time as I drove to the cash machine to withdraw funds for my ridiculously expensive wash and blow, I noticed this homeless man I often see on my way to work.  He usually sits in the mornings on the stoop of an empty office building.  The man carries his green military-like duffel bag everywhere he goes.  I wonder if all his personal belongings are in that bag.

On this day I told myself I would walk over and give him money for coffee.  Walking over to the man after making my withdrawal this is how it went:

“Good morning sir how are you today?”

“Fine.”

“Did you have breakfast this morning?”

“Yeah. I’m ok.”

“Would you like coffee?”

“No.”

I should have gotten the hint at his one-word responses but the inquisitive writer kept asking.

“Are you sure you’re good. Let me buy you a cup of coffee.”
“No I’m fine, thank you.” He sounded humble and most likely wondering why the hell was I bothering him.

“Ok sir let me give this so you can buy some lunch later.” I reached out and handed him a five dollar bill.

“I’m ok I don’t need it. I just came from the bank.” He was serious and I believed him but I insisted yet again.

“Are you sure? I don’t mind I want to treat you to lunch today.” But he refused and said he didn’t need the money.

“Alright, I hope you enjoy your day. What’s your name?”

“It’s Eddie.”

“Have a good day Eddie, it was a pleasure chatting with you.” I turned my rejected ass around and headed towards the bank’s parking lot two blocks away.

At first I was insulted. How dare he reject me and make me feel like I did something wrong. Then it hit me. I wasn’t insulted, I was feeling sorry for myself because a humble homeless man refused to take my handout. It was also the fact that he took away my joy at my act of kindness. Yep rejection sucks….it sucks more when you’re expecting that good feeling inside after doing something good.

Thanks Eddie for teaching me a lesson in expecting the unexpected and realizing that not everyone who looks like they are in need, really is in need of help.

Life is good,

Eve

 

 

 

 

 

 

