Tags

, , , ,

A very good friend of mine lost her Mother just yesterday and although I briefly spoke to her and offered  my condolences I feel that wasn’t enough. You see this friend I have admired for so many years because she has literally put her life on hold to care for her mother. This woman is strong and truly a loving daughter who  has put her personal and work life second to care for her mom. My friend’s Mom had an aneurism some years ago and she became daughter, nurse, physical therapist, mental and spiritual supporter to her mom. I only wish if I am ever faced with a situation like this one, that I would have the strength and hopefully be half the woman my friend has been.

She works, has gone to school, has health issues and yet these things are second or third when it comes to caring for her mom. Wow, to dedicate your time and energy and give of yourself not because you HAVE to but because you WANT to, is so rare nowadays. I often spoke highly about this friend because I admire all that she has done. Never did she complain, never did she say I’m tired, never did she say, ‘someone else take over’…well at least I never heard her say these things. How can I find the right words to express the admiration I have for her and the right words to comfort her while she tries to deal with her loss? I don’t think I will find those words because that’s all they will be…words.

I believe this blog is my own personal way of expressing my admiration, my sympathies and to share how much I hurt for my friend during this difficult time.  I’m great at writing how I feel, but I’m not good at saying them during sad times.  I will tell my friend one day how much I have admired and prayed for her to continue to have the strength and health to be there for her mom but for now, I will write it on my blog because it’s the only way I know how.

Everyone knows someone like my friend. We all have that special someone we admire and wonder, ‘how do they do it?” While you’re wondering, tell them what a great thing they are doing and that you notice and care.

In closing I will say to my friend, Miss Bunny, as I often refer to her…..” I love you friend! You will always have a special place in my heart and I love the way we start our phone conversations as if we spoke the day before, even if weeks have gone by. Never forget you made the ultimate sacrifice of giving of yourself freely without expecting anything in return. Your Mom, I am sure, was very proud of you! May she rest in peace.”

Love you Bon!!

Ev

